Hi, I'm Dr. Megan Srinivas

Screen Shot 2021-12-14 at 3.17.22 PM.png

Megan is an Iowa  native and local doctor based in Des Moines. She was raised in small town Iowa and graduated from Fort Dodge Senior High.  Megan went on to receive undergraduate and graduate degrees from Harvard University and her medical degree with a certificate in teaching from the University of Iowa’s Carver College of Medicine.  She completed her internal medicine residency at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and infectious disease fellowship at the University of North Carolina.  Her roots in Iowa drove her to return home to improve health care in her community.


Megan has always prioritized making Iowa a better place to live. Megan was appointed by Governor Vilsack to serve as the first student representative on the Iowa State Board of Education. She also started and led Presents of Hope for 10 years, a community effort focused on providing essential items as well as holiday presents to children and women in the YWCA homeless shelter and the domestic abuse shelter. During the fall of 2020, Megan chaired Iowa’s Biden-Harris COVID Response Council.


Megan is an infectious disease physician who is contracted with Broadlawns Medical Center and works remotely for the University of North Carolina School for Medicine. She works with Iowa Primary Care Association (PCA) to improve access to Hepatitis C treatment throughout the state. She also serves on the Iowa Supreme Court’s Access to Justice Commission and sits on the board of the Iowa chapter of the National Alliance for Mental Illness (NAMI Iowa).


I grew up right here in Iowa. Like many people in this district, my parents are immigrants who chose Iowa to be our home because of the good education system, the opportunities for working families, and safe neighborhoods in which we could grow up and play. But during the last several years, those things have changed.


Incomes for working families are lagging, our state budget is a mess, and healthcare has become unaffordable or unattainable for too many Iowans.


Poor governance during the pandemic only worsened these things. Workers' safety and job security have been completely disregarded. Many of our small businesses are struggling to get by. Healthcare remains out of reach for so many people. And teachers and school staff who were once heroes are now vilified as they try to keep our kids safe.


Fortunately, we can solve these challenges if we join together and put people over political party. During the pandemic, I stood alongside so many of you fighting for the lives and livelihoods of Iowans. In the legislature, I’ll continue to use my voice for you. I'll stand up for workers and fight for good jobs with good wages. I'll work to balance the budget, just like working families have to every year. And I’ll bring my medical experience to the state Capitol to show politicians how we can fix our health care system to provide better care at a more affordable price.


During the last 20 months of the pandemic, you've trusted me to help keep you safe. Now I’m asking you to trust me with your vote.